,,[Marriage Talk] A Simple Note to Remind Me Later,,

Today I feel like want to share something about marriage. Well obviously, I’m not a relationship expert or marriage expert. But I just want to write it down here, things I have learned, a simple note to remind me later…

Always be joyful, don’t take yourself or things so seriously. Be silly, make jokes, or even make a silly song or dance move. Laugh. Make each other laugh. Because when things get hard, laughter makes everything else easier and a heart full of joy somehow gives such an incredible strength.

Be fully transparent (I got this great lesson in my marriage counselling). If you want to have trust you must be willing to share EVERYTHING. Especially those things you don’t want to share. It takes courage and a heart full of love to fully love, to fully open your heart and let him/her in when you don’t know whether he/she will like what they find. Part of that courage is allowing him/her to love you completely, your darkness as well as your light. If you feel like you need to wear one or two or even more mask(s) around him/her, and show up perfect all the time, you will never experience the full dimension of what love can be.

Forgive immediately and focus on the future rather than carrying weight from the past. Don’t let your history hold you. Holding on past mistake(s) that both of you make, is like a heavy anchor to your relationship, to your marriage and will hold you back. Simply said, forgiveness is freedom.

Last but not least, always choose love. Love and pride can’t occupy the same spaces, only one makes you free. Always choose love. One great lesson I learn from my husband, Yosua, is to never be afraid to be the one who loves the most.

I learn that marriage is a work. It is a commitment to grow together and a willingness to continually invest in creating something that can endure eternity. I do realize that marriage is life, and it will bring ups and downs. And today I will choose to embrace all of the cycles and love each experience that Yosua and I adventure together. I believe God is watching over us.

Always love you Yosua Kristianto, never stop growing together!

IMG_4005

Happy Monday peeps,

Cheers,
Ndhy

Leave a Reply

